for solo piano and ten players
 > pno solo - 1110 - 0110 - perc - 10111
2017 | ca. 15 min
First performance (f.p.): 4 April 2017, Washington DC, Newprism Ensemble

Programme notes

on a fragile curve, composed in 2016/17, is a concerto for solo piano and chamber orchestra in three parts. The title of Part 1, tu ne me traverseras pas sans péril, is drawn from the poem Je suis le terre et l’eau (I am the earth and water) by Anne Hébert, and translates as “you will not cross me without danger.” Part 2, a breath could break you, is drawn from Lorna Crozier’s poem, Watching my Lover. While these two titles respectively reflect the power of the earth’s elements and the fragility of life, Part 3, curve, refers to the warnings of the scientific community on the continuous rising temperature of our planet.

R. A. Baker

on a fragile curve

Website Created & Hosted with Doteasy Web Hosting Canada